How the SRC is elected

Members of the SRC must meet the requirements outlined in the Capability Framework and are appointed by a Selection Panel. View the results of the most recent SRC election below.

Term of office 14 May 2019 – 13 May 2021

Three Undergraduate Student Representatives
  • Max Gale
  • Jade Quisumbing
  • Daniel Roberts
One Overseas Students Representative
  • Utkarsh Gautam
One Undergraduate Student Representative from the Faculty of Arts
  • Emily Ward
One Undergraduate Student Representative from the Macquarie Business School
  • Amanda Tan
One Undergraduate Student Representative from the Faculty of Human Sciences
  • Shlomo Bension
One Undergraduate Student Representative from the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
  • Nadya Rykina-Tameeva
One Undergraduate Student Representative from the Faculty of Science and Engineering
  • Jayden Whaites-Fruitrich
One Postgraduate Student Representative
  • Didhiti Girdhar
One Postgraduate Student Representative from the Faculty of Arts
  • Anna Cheng
One Postgraduate Student Representative from the Macquarie Business School
  • Francisco Gutierrez Becerra
One Postgraduate Student Representative from the Faculty of Human Sciences

No nominations were received for this position.

One Postgraduate Student Representative from the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
  • Elisabeth Vrazas
One Postgraduate Student Representative from the Faculty of Science and Engineering
  • Ibrahim Anwar Ahmad Ibrahim
One Student Representative for Women Students
  • Ateka Rajabi
LGBTIQ Student Representative
  • Masumi Parmar
Student Representative For Aboriginal And Torres Strait Islander Students
  • Neenah Gray
Student Representative for Students with a Disability
  • Marlene Khouzam
Student Representative for Distance Students
  • Alex Cullen
Student Representative from a Culturally and Linguistically Diverse
  • May Thet Naing
Regional and Remote Student Representative
  • Angus Webber
Two Student Representatives from a Major Student Organisation
  • Georgia Weeden
  • Jarod Cunningham

In accordance with Schedule 5 of the SRC Constitution [PDF 1.4MB], a Selection Panel appointed by the Student Experience Committee is responsible for selecting appointed members representing:

  • Faculties
  • Equity
  • Diversity, and
  • Major Student Organisations.

The Selection Panel reviews all applications and assesses the information provided by the candidate in their Candidate Statement against the capability framework shown below.

The Selection Panel will shortlist candidates for interviews during the election period.

Selection Panel members

Susannah Lynch

Susannah is the Independent Chair of the Student Representative Committee. Ms. Lynch is a Macquarie University alumnus who has extensive experience in the governance of Clubs and Societies at the University of Newcastle as well as chairing meetings in a variety of contexts. During her study at Macquarie University, Ms. Lynch was a resident at Dunmore Lang College, and participated in several student-led programs, including Orientation, the Annual Year Book, the college musical, and chairing the social committee.

Fiona Reed

Fiona is an Alumnus of Macquarie University having completed a Bachelor of Science and an LLB. Fiona is a past president of Macquarie University Sport and Recreation Ltd and the former SRC Chairperson from 2014 until June 2019.

Fiona has strong professional experience in management, administration, and law having acted as the General Counsel and Senior Solicitor for several large financial corporations.

Dr. Alisha Sial

Dr. Alisha has graduated from Pakistan and is a former Postgraduate Student Representative from the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences on the SRC before graduating with MRes from Macquarie in 2016.

Dr. Alisha is currently working as a Surgical Trainee at the John Hunter Hospital, Newcastle, and has experience as Senior Resident Medical Officer at Blacktown Mount Druitt Hospital, Macquarie Hospital, and a hospital in Queensland.

Dr. Alisha is one of the SRC Selection Panel members since 2016 and has Macquarie students’ best interest at heart while seeking the right student representatives for the SRC.

Clement Tsang

Clement graduated with an MBA from Macquarie in 2003 and also has a Bachelor of Arts and LLB from the University.

Clement attended Macquarie University from 1993‐2003 and graduated with an MBA, Bachelor of Arts majoring in Politics and LLB. During his time at the University, Clement held elected positions as Vice-Chair and Chairperson on the Student's Council, Director of the Student Union as well as executive roles with Clubs and Sports Association.

In 2004, Clement set up the inaugural Macquarie alumni association in Shanghai and supported the launch of the Beijing chapter, and hosted visits by various MU executives including the then VC Di Yerbury and Registrar Brian Spencer. During these activities, he partnered with Alumni Directors such as Mark Herndon, Kristy White, and Hedda Grae.

Clement has a deep fondness for Macquarie, and his ongoing support through the years reflects his passionate commitment.

Timothy Zhang

Timothy Zhang is a former LGBTQIA+ Student Representative on the SRC before graduating with a Bachelor of Applied Finance with the Degree of Bachelor of Actuarial Studies from Macquarie University in 2016.

Timothy practiced as a graduate Actuary at ANZ Banking Group and now works for Macquarie Bank as a Decision Science Analyst. Timothy specialises in consumer product pricing and portfolio credit risk analytics. He is also a member of the Institute of Actuaries Australia. Whilst studying at Macquarie, Timothy was a participant at the PACE International Cambodia Disability project, a graduate from Global Leadership Program, Project Lead and Treasurer at Enactus Macquarie, and alumni from the Merit Scholars Program.

Timothy is a strong advocate for equal opportunity for LGBTQIA+ students, greater gender diversity in STEM and Finance, and international students' employability. While seeking future SRC candidates, Timothy will ensure a broad representation of gender, socioeconomic experience, academic disciplines, areas of interests, and expertise at the Committee.

The Capability Framework for Student Representatives is a tool that helps to describe the types of behaviours, skills, qualities, knowledge, and experience required for student representatives to perform effectively in their role.

The capability framework consists of four elements:

  • Knowledge: What I know
  • Experience: What I’ve done
  • Competencies: What I can do
  • Attributes: Who I am


  • basic working knowledge of Macquarie University


  • experience building and managing relationships
  • working as part of a team
  • supporting others


  • Influence and persuasion: Building commitment by convincing others and winning them over to a particular point of view.
  • Communication: Effectively grasping and conveying ideas and concepts to others.
  • Planning and execution: Managing time and resources to complete tasks and achieve objectives.
  • Analysis and judgement: Evaluating information and data to solve problems and make decisions.
  • Relationship Management: Establishing effective working relationships with others.


  • Interpersonal impact: Making a positive impression on others in a range of interpersonal contexts.
  • Assertiveness: Being willing to openly express ideas and opinions and justify these when questioned.
  • Reliability: Meeting commitments and responsibilities
  • Resilience: Dealing effectively with and recovering quickly from setbacks or pressure
  • Initiative: Identifying opportunities and taking action, on their own accord, to address problems and prevent them from reoccurring.

Contact us

  • Macquarie University
  • Level 1, Bassline, 18 Wally’s Walk
  • North Ryde NSW 2109
  • E: