About us

About us

The Numeracy Centre, co-ordinated by Carolyn Kennett, is located in 14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue (14SCOA) 188 and has two major aims:

  1. To improve students’ access to mathematics and numeracy-based courses, such as statistics, at undergraduate and postgraduate level.
  2. To improve students’ completion rates of mathematics and numeracy-based courses.

In striving to achieve these aims, the Numeracy Centre offers a number of services including a free drop-in service, weekly workshops for some first year courses, bridging programs and preparatory courses at the beginning of each semester and some on-line resources.

The Numeracy Centre is funded by the University through Access and Equity initiatives. It has two permanent members of staff, the Director of the Centre, Carolyn Kennett and a part time lecturer, Dilshara Hill. The Centre also employs a number of casual tutors who work in the centre on a roster basis and also teach some of the workshops.

Our Zoom tutors currently employed by the Numeracy Centre are:

Carolyn Kennett                                                                         Dilshara Hill

Geoff Edington-Cheater                                                            Simon Macourt

Alessandro Maini                                                                        Amir Ebadati Bazkiaei

Carolyn Taylor                                                                           Matthew Fernandes

Ali Shariati                                                                                   Manju Thomas

Eli Hazel                                                                                    Sherwin Bagheri

Ramon Abud Alcala                                                                    David Gruenewald

Daniel Lombardo                                                                         Adrian Miranda

Carolyn and Dilshara can be contacted by phone on 9850 8924. The Numeracy Centre phone number is 9850 8797. Alternatively, you can email us at fse.numeracy@mq.edu.au.

Back to the top of this page